Creature Feature: Warpstalker

Chameleon+Mage=Warpstalker?

Chameleon + Mage = Warpstalker?

Arguably the strangest creature in the World of Warcraft, and cetainly the strangest I’ve covered so far, Warpstalkers are nearly unchanged from their inception in the Burning Crusade.

From the beginning, Warpstalkers have had high armor and hp, low damage, and the ability to teleport instantly.  Since patch 3.0, however, Warpstalkers are now much better versions of what they were before.  They deal more damage, take more hits, learn better moves, and are still just as freaky looking.

GENERAL STATS
Warpstalkers are Tenacity pets, which means they are primarily good for tanking and soloing.  This is evident, seeing as their stat bonuses are 5% to armor and 10% to hp.  Tenacity pets are the opposite of their squishier cousins, ferocity pets, and can take quite a number of hits.  They also benefit greatly from healing.

The Focus Dump skill for Warpstalkers is Bite, and their special move is completely unique: Warp.  Like the majority of pets, that is a Warpstalker’s only special move.

Warpstalkers are an entirely unique and strange pet.  There are only 5 beautiful skins for these creatures, but Blizzard saw fit to only make 2 of them tameable: the white one and the turquoise one.  Warpstalkers can only be found in Outland.

ABILITIES
Warp: Allows the Warpstalker to warp next to a target 30 yards away.  The Warpstalker is still a little phased from the warp, making it harder to hit for the next 3 melee hits or 4 seconds.

Warp has a very pratical application in soloing: it teleports, then becomes hard to damage for a couple of seconds.  This means that your Warpstalker can tag opponents faster than you can shoot to tag it.  If the mob is an elite, your already tanky pet gets a boost to survivability too!

In PvE, the only benefit to warp is that it allows your pet to move into combat faster.  This means an incredibly slight DPS increase for about 1 second.  Either that or you can use your Warpstalker pet as a utility pet, as I have detailed in an ealier post.  Thanks to Warp, your pet doesn’t have to run anywhere: It appears at a mob and then tanks it.  No hassle, no running, no problem.

For PvP, Warp is a lot more straightforward, and has some pretty creative uses for it.  Like when soloing, Warping gives the warpstalker a slight boost to survivability every 30/21 seconds.  In combination with the other powerful PvP abilities of tenacity pets, your Warpstalker will not die very easily, not that it was going to die easily anyway.

This has another cool application, particularly for Beastmasters.  Instant warping allows your pet to start interupting spell casting a lot faster.  As a beastmaster, this also has something else of import: instant landing stun.  Cast Intimidation on your freaky pal, warp him next to a healer in mid cast, and bam.  No more heal.  This works for burst damage too.  Out of nowhere, this pet pops up and starts bashing your face in, stunning you, Kill command is active, shots are raining down…  it’s not fun to be on the recieving end.

One last important thing to note about PvP and warp: when something as scary looking as a warpstalker pops out of nowhere, this might cause people to freak out a little.  People will turn around and try to instagib your pet, leaving their backs exposed, or they will ignore it at the cost of their healer.  Needless to say, warping has a lot of practicality for those who are creative, and I know you can find some out for yourself.

NATURAL HABITAT
Warpstalkers commonly make their homes in Solo and PvP environments mostly, unless they are found being utility in PvE.  This means that Warpstalkers are great pets for grinding, questing, Battlegrounds and Arenas.  Warp is great in any situation, as teleporting has all kinds of fun attached to it and the buff granted by Warp causes people to miss attacks.  A missed attack is a missed attack, no matter how many people attack.

Warpstalkers are meant to survive, however.  Thanks to great talents like Blood of the Rhino and Last Stand, Warpstalkers have a hard time going down for the count.  It’s important to remember that your Warpstalker won’t be doing as much damage as a cunning pet or a ferocity pet, but the utility you get out of it more than makes up for it.

KLINDERAS’S THOUGHTS
They’re big.  Freaky.  Have a thing for chewing on my hand.

They’re absolutely great.

I had a Warpstalker named Stryker a long time ago.  By learning the intracacies of warp, I managed to finish dailies incredibly quickly by tagging enemies before anyone else could.  I managed to annoy opponents past their sanity by sending Stryker to smash their faces in when they least expected it.  I also bought more fruit than ever before… they eat a lot.

When facing members of the Alliance, or fighting in a duel, I find these creatures to be incredibly practical and a joy to work with.

But when facing dangers like those found in Naxramas, their power is better used for protecting others.  Unfortunately, this job is usually taken by our resident Warrior, Druid, Paladin or Death Knight.  As a result, there’s not much use for Warpstalkers in these situations.

COLEMAND’S THOUGHTS
Like Gnomes, Magic runs through these creatures like blood.  Their flesh is incedibly sweet, almost candy-like.  It helps that all they eat are fruit and bread…

Hmm.

They’re like pre-stuffed turkeys, but twice as big!

11 responses to “Creature Feature: Warpstalker

  1. I remember the vvery first time I ever saw one of these, I was totally astounded. It was in the AH in Org. I wispered the guy and was all like ‘omg that is such a gorgeous pet where did you get it, tell me, i must have!!’
    At this point I was nowhere Outland level.
    I never did get around to taming one.

    Geif more stable slots.

  2. Oh, Willy… Willy was my Warp Stalker, one of the white ones, he leveled from about 65 to 70 with me.

    One thing Warp Stalkers are great for is competing for mobs. Willy was always with me whenever I needed to farm on the Elemental Plateau, he could get to a mob much faster than all those night elves and their cats!

    It was also great because back in those days, tanking pets clearly weren’t what they are today. You had to wait a couple seconds for your pet to get to the mob and establish aggro. However with the Warp Stalker, I usually didn’t have to wait before I started attacking.

    It is important to note though that unfortunately, Charge, one of the main abilities of Tenacity pets does not work with Warp – you can only use one or the other. So they aren’t really all that useful anymore. :(

  3. @Brajana I personally find Warp to be more useful for soloing, thanks to the dodge chance and the fact they will continue to warp whenever they can – providing a lot of chances to dodge over the course of a fight.

    Charge is a 25% damage boost for one attack, plus a one second immobilization, and has a minimum range. Not quite so good for soloing.

    Also, with Thunderstop becoming a talent for all tenacity pets, I can see Warp Stalkers being pretty powerful – AoE aggro generation plus 50% dodge for 3 attacks every 10 seconds? Better than a Gorilla ever was!

  4. Yeah, actually with the announcement of Thunderstomp, I have considered retaming Willy :) But I worked so hard to get my rare white Gorilla, I feel obligated to keep him around!

    Maybe now that Rhinos aren’t as cool I’ll replace my Rhino :)

  5. I’m not touching Rhino’s until their changes go through. The PTR is too freaky, and I’m too hesitant to talk about PVP for hunters until it’s out too…

    Man, the PTR is so weird.

  6. Colemand, my undead warlock would like to know if you have any gnome recipes to share. He’s still looking for the perfect way to cook them.

    Back on topic, I’ve never personally had a warpstalker, but I love them anyway. One of my hunters will be getting one for her tanky pet once she levels high enough. And on a final note, my sister’s troll hunter has one, and at level 74 he outtanked Boogga’s level 80 hydra (hydra died to Sarathstra when I was helping her with the quest, Blinkin took over tanking while I ressed him and continued tanking him for a good while after. And lived thru it all.)

  7. I loved my Stalky. The first time I saw one warp on me in Terrokar I was like zomg! Must have!! My gorilla is a goner as soon as the patch comes out. Only trouble is, I’m going to want a new turtle as well. But then…oh. I have that ghost hydra. How many tenacity pets does one Tauren need? *sigh* I will have to let someone else go besides just the gorilla.

  8. Of my three permanant pets, one is a Warp Stalker. Kael-named after Kael’thas-is really quite nice, though be careful with warp as it can get your pet to places you can’t reach and sometimes they kill stuff and it’s too far for you to loot :O

    Also…OMG Gnome recipies! My pet Deadlock gave me a great one-some soothing spices, butter, some hot spices, a few eggs, some flour…oh, and a gnome. Cover the gnome in the eggs and flour, mix with the spices, and fry in the butter.

    Delicous.

    Why I rolled a night elf is still a mystery to me.

  9. Ooh, how I love this pet… I named mine Vasche (Kinda like Vanish and… I dunno) and he’s currently 71 (My hunter is 76), and he can still tank mobs in Scholazar Basin just fine, as I get ganked endlessly by Detheroc’s notoriously malicious horde.

    As for its capabilities, I can’t think of a better “Elite Hunter” than this little fella – 3 charges of 1/2 dodge is quite nice in mitigation, and if it can cast it every 19 seconds (For BM), that’s a lot of missed attacks for the big, burly, heavy-hitting menaces with golden dragons around their portraits. All the while you heal the pet and keep PEW-PEWing the big guy. Might take long, but that’s a sure kill. Nothing beats a sure kill, right?

  10. a new creation of imagination,it is a great and it is splendid!

  11. I love mine to death. His name is Zhylaw, named after the Lord Marshall in Cronicles of Riddick (because of how they both fight by zipping all over the place). He has saved my butt and my guild’s on countless occasions. I know I can do more DPS with my wolf, but I find it SOOOO hard to stable Zhylaw:(.

Leave a Reply

