Daily Archives: May 30, 2009

Heroics < Battlegrounds

FC_NotEqual_41725_lgLast night, I was spending time with friends of mine I hadn’t seen in a few weeks.

We go to talking about the wars, the dangers, and the overall life in World of Warcraft.

One of my friends hates PvP, like another friend of mine does(Rilgon, I’m looking at you).  However, when I asked why, it was entirely about balance.  His first response was that it was too hard to get into, and that it’s required a lot more work to begin playing PvP.

Which, I said, was bogus.  Harder to get into?

I spent 3 weeks getting the PvE gear I have.  I’ve spent, easily, 7 000+ gold staying equipped for it.  I’ve been glued to my screen when there wasn’t anything more pressing than WoW to do.

1 week of PvP.  I have 524 resilience(which isn’t bad, or so I’m told) and a successful arena team.  I’ve spent 1 000 – 2 000 gold, max.  In all honesty, I found it so much easier than PvE.  PvE, you step into instance after instance hoping to get the drop you want.  For me, I was incredibly lucky.  I got a lot of loot very quickly due to an amazing amount of luck.  But most people don’t have that kind of loot luck.

In fact, the reason that all of my friends quit WoW was because raiding was “a full-time job”.  A fun one, maybe, but a job? How is that easier to get into? There are applications to get into the bigger guilds, and it has been pointed out that some of them are just pointless posturing.  Either way, you need a resume to play a game? That’s not easy to get into at all.

To keep this fair, we’re not going to mention that battlegrounds are available as early as level 10, that a PvP server is a constant PvP fight, and that the money cost is lower.  For one, when you hit 80, the higher end brackets are all available right there.  No need to gear yourself.

When you do the first couple fo battlegrounds, you will die.  Well, duh, who doesn’t? But even when you lose, you get something out of it.  You get honour.  More honour means more gear.  In PvE, a loss is a loss.  For me, it also means 13 gold every time I die, plus whatever amount of money it cost for ammunition and other buffs.  Plate armor people like Colemand have to pay even more.  The money you pick up from a Naxx can help with the repairs, but that’s only if you can clear it fast enough without a lot of deaths.  If you manage to wipe on Patchwerk 3-4 times, you just lost 50+ gold.

2 hours of Arena: 13 gold.  Tops.  2 Hours of Battlegrounds: 15 Gold, tops.

Secondly, you can do PvP whenever it’s convenient for you.  This makes it so much easier to get into! For a raiding guild, you have raiding times.  You must abide, or you can’t raid with them.  In addition, raids will take anywhere between 2-5 hours on raid nights.  PvP is whenever you feel like, for however long you feel like it, and you can leave at any point and time if there’s an emergency and no one will care.

Lastly, there’s Wintergrasp.  Waltz in, get boatloads of honour, and then walk out.  You get Tokens to buy more gear, and you get a chance to raid the Vault of Archavon.  Most importantly, Wintergrasp is the perfect place for the beginning PvPer: gear isn’t a factor.  The lowliest geared mage could walk into a tank or a turret and blast the everloving shit out of people.  What’s the equivalent in PvE? Ulduar? Heck no, because the vehicles have hp based on the quality of the items you are wearing.  So, gear is a requirement, and good gear at that.  Good gear is expensive, and you know the rest of the story.

It is my humble submission that, in fact…

/slamdeskwithhands

…it is much easier to get into PvP!

/bow

/curtains