Moviewatch: Pachelbel Rant

i-hate-pachabelFor those who do not know, I am a music major.  I’m not particularly great yet, but I’m learning.

In any case, I was in music history class, and at the beginning of the class, my professor started the class with a story.

She told of how she used to play the Cello professionally, and that she loved it.

And then she had to play Pachelbel’s Cannon in D.  She hated it.  To emphasize her point, she showed us this video.  When I saw it, I was crying I was laughing so hard.  I showed it to Drotora at QQ over Twitter, and he laughed hard enough he woke up his wife.

Needless to say, this is definitely grade “A” Moviewatch material.

And yes, it’s a conspiracy.  It’s everywhere.

Ladies and Gentlemen, The Pachelbel Rant!

8 comments

  1. I’m not a music major.. but I have played the tuba for 8 years. I’ve gotten some strange looks when I get on the bus with a 4/4 tuba in a black bag slung on my back.

  2. I hear ya there. That stuff aint easy to carry around.

    And like the comedian said:
    “It was like being a wounded gazelle on the Serengeti.”

  3. Ah, this brought me back. I used to play the piano (classical, of course – the only way to go) and I have to say, I loved playing Pachelbel’s Canon in D. (Of course, because I got to play the melody) but I believe we also played it in band and it was rather boring, even as first clarinet.

    Great post, the video had me laughing!

Leave a Reply

