A Dignified Guest!

guest1_img2__Today, we have a special treat for you all: a guest post.

Why guest posts? I hardly have enough time to write my own posts right now, so I’ve extended to offer to other bloggers to write me some guest posts.  One of the fish I caught happens to be Splat from Fortune Favours, a blog I’ve recently begun to read with regularity.

Everyone give a round of applause to Splat!

Hello, all! This is Splat from over at Fortune Favors. Klinderas asked if anyone wanted to write a guest post on his site, and foolishly he decided to accept one from me. Or, … he WILL have foolishly accepted one from me, if you can read this. Hmm.

As some of you that hang out on Twitter already know, I’m currently a semi-retired Draenei paladin and Blood Elf hunter-in-training. Owing to my somewhat compulsive nature as well as my lifelong learning skills, I immediately scoured the web for information on hunters, Blood Elves (Elf pride! \../), and leveling Horde.

It all seemed good, except for one glaring issue. Not a bug, not a design flaw, but a zone in the game. A zone that tried the mettle of the most serious of gamers. A zone so dastardly that it was enough to make die-hard Horde members switch to Alliance alts. A zone that could, in a matter of levels, reduce the most noble of RPers into frothing-at-the-mouth quoters of Chuck Norris facts, “Yo mama” jokes, and worse.

If you haven’t guessed by now that I’m talking about the Barrens, then I actually consider you quite lucky.

Barrens has been reviled and poked fun of repeatedly, and while some exaggeration can occur it is all based on the fact that for most players it’s a horrid zone to level in – long distances to travel at a level before you can use a mount, and with its design meant for levels 10-30 you can expect to spend a LOT of time there. Even if you like the design, it gets old fast.

And I don’t mind at all.

No, seriously, I don’t.

This time around I deliberately avoided all Barrens quests (other than ones shared by party members when going into instances) while leveling to 30. Like a good little baby Blood Elf I helped defend my people from the encroaching dangers found in the Ghostlands, then high tailed myself over to Kalimdor so I could alternate between Stonetalon Mountains and Ashenvale.

No bland, unchanging artwork for 20 levels, no Alliance goons repeatedly killing the flight master, and no Barrens Chat.

Of course at 30 I did go back and knock out all the Barrens quests for the rep rewards, but it’s a lot easier when you have a giant chicken to ride on.

/sigh.

Exalted status with Orgrimmar can not come soon enough for me.

3 comments

  1. /leave General

    /love Barrens

    Personally, for the unmounted leveling toon, I found Stonetalon to be much more unfriendly. You can cut across country in the Barrens – you can’t in Stonetalon.

  2. While it’s true that Barrens lets you do that, it fels like a much larger zone to me and therefore it needs those cross country runs. Stonetalon seems to be much smaller to me, so shortcuts aren’t as big a concern.

    Granted I haven’t actually measured them, but that’s how it seems to me at least.

  3. I really don’t care for the majority of the Crossroads-given Barrens quests, but I don’t mind the quests given in the Southern Barrens to kill the quilboars.

    I couldn’t tell you why…

    >.>

    <.<

Comments are closed.