Mother’s Day: The Hidden Holiday

Deals On Mother's Day GiftsIf I had to classify Mother’s Day in WoW, it would be a rogue.

Every year without fail, Mother’s Day sneaks up on me like a cat sneaks up on a mouse, and then it pounces, leaving me dazed, confused, and guilty.

For having forgotten to actually remember it.

Every year, this has happened, and every time I feel terrible about it.  I keep forgetting when it is.  Why is that? Why does it keep happening? If anything, you’d think I would have learned my lesson by now.

No dice though.  I forgot again this year, and I’m feeling terrible about it.  No doubt every one else has remembered, right? Right.

So here I am, without a present and I have a homemade card just for her.  You know what I’m doing for a present?

I’m mowing the lawn.  Worst.  Present. Ever.  In the history of presents, I believe this is the lamest I’ve ever done.  Lame like waiting for that one piece of gear, getting something better, and then that piece of gear drops.  But I have a plan.  I am a musician, am I not? I can play music that stirs the soul, reduces the manliest men to a whimpering heap, and lifts the spirits of those downtrodden from years of labour to heights they never thought they could reach.  I could play her music!..

And then I realized I hadn’t practiced nearly enough to constitute it as a present so much as audible torture.  Well, that takes care of that idea.  So there’s only one thing left to do.

Like any other day I’m at home, I spend time with the Mom.  But on this day particularly, any time spent with the Mom is important, and special to her.  It’s like giving her a pat on the back saying “You’re the best there is, and that’s the way it’s going to stay”.

The Mother’s Day is like a rogue.  It sneaks up on you, jumps you, and you feel bad about letting it happen time and again, but you can’t stop it.  No sir.  Happily, the person operating this rogue is the Mom, and she loves and cares for you like no other.  She doesn’t care if you brought no presents, so long as you love her and care for her back.  That’s what I’m going to do.

To the Mom, the most intelligent, movie addicted, calm, collected, and loving person I could have ever wished for.  The Mom who was there for me when I was sick, tired, sad, kicked out, kicked in, kicked in the face, overloaded, underloaded, and everything else I can try to come up with.

Here’s to moms everywhere, and to a happy day to all of them wherever they may be!

One comment

  1. The same thing occurred to me last night at 1 a.m. I ended up making her breakfast and a card… somehow I wasn’t slapped in the face and told to buy her a diamond ring.

    Least I’m not the only person who forgets it!

Comments are closed.