This Is What Heaven Must Be

Look! It's... so close...

Look! It's... so close...

Traps now have separate 30 second cooldown categories: Fire (Immolation Trap, Explosive Trap and Black Arrow), Frost (Freezing Trap, Frost Trap) and Nature (Snake Trap). A hunter can have one trap of each category placed at one time.

All pets now receive 40% of their master’s resilience and 100% of their master’s spell penetration. In addition, if a player is at their appropriate spell hit chance or hit chance maximum, their pet will be at the maximum for spell hit chance, hit chance, and expertise. If they are below the maximum, their pet will be proportionately below those maximums.

I think that patch 3.2 will make hunters very happy campers.  Is 40% resilience enough? Maybe, seeing as how they have talents that reduce crit as it is and this will probably make them as hard to kill as some players.  High five? I think so.

Also, that spell penetration is going to be hawt for those hunters with the good fortune of having a Spirit Beast or who are using other pets with a spell type move… Wasps, Dragonhawks, Corehounds, Nether Rays… jeez oh man there are a lot of them!

Also, 3 traps at once? 3? I’m down for making minefields.  Imagine 2 hunters in the flag room in a Warsong Gulch.  That is carnage and fun waiting to happen! This will solidify us as defenders in Battlegrounds.  For PvE, this means that survival hunters can use Black Arrow and use freeze traps to CC! I foresee CC coming back in a big way.

A more comprehensive post on the changes at a later time: for now, I’m going to go back to some drooling and oggling of changes.

12 comments

  1. I foresee CC coming back in a big way.

    Not when they cut in half the time that a trap persists (30 seconds, down from a minute).

    Fucking bullshit. /rage

  2. I’m very excited for the trap changes personally. If they revert the arming time changes i’d be in heaven.

  3. What Rilgon said. You can barely chain trap now with the AoE fests most trash ends up being, let alone if the timing is that tight.

  4. Ya know, I’d actually meet Blizzard somewhere in the middle here. Let us have 2 traps up, with a 40-45 second expiration. 3 traps sounds nice, but if I wanted to spend that much time just dropping items on the ground, I’d play a Shammy… oh, wait….

  5. Are these changes definite for the patch now? My understanding is this is what they’re trying on the PTR – if it doesn’t work they’ll change it.

    *puts fingers in ears*

    Lalala don’t crush my optimism lalalalala!

  6. @Rilgon
    Sure, this will make chain trapping harder if there is going to be CC in the future. But on the upside, you can set up more than just CC at once: you can set up and AoE Misdirect and a Freeze trap at the same time. That could be interesting…

    @Kordwar
    I hear ya! Can you imagine how awesome this is going to make PvP? Now you don’t have to choose between Frost or Snakes(not that it was a choice before, really) and you can stick down a damage trap/black arrow on top of everything else! It’s like a portable minefield.

    @Fluffywumpki of Kilrogg + Negathle
    30 seconds isn’t a lot of time, but we’re all used to kiting a little bit aren’t we?

    @Splat
    Well put. If these don’t work, they’ll change it. Even the pet resilience might get changed(please put it up to 60%!).

    I foresee the traps change being meddled with a great deal over the next couple of weeks. I could see the amount of traps us hunters putting down be OP for PvP, which might change it for the better of PvE(for once!). We’ll just have to see.

    @Zhire
    Seeing as the Kill Command changes are on a PvP/tanking talent, I’m going to have fun myself. Like I said, a more in depth post from my Point Of View is incoming!

  7. I don’t think I’ll notice the trap duration times much as I’m a chronic refresher. At least now when I’m trying to get away from someone I can drop a freezing trap followed by a snake trap…

    (freezing trap hits)

    ::SO COLD::

    [PvP Trinkets]

    FREEDOM!

    ::snap!::

    WTF! SNAKES WHY’D IT HAVE TO BE SNAKES!

    Just the thought of it makes me smile.

  8. While I am certainly happy about this, it frustrates me to no end that it took this long to implement the pet resilience change. For years we heard blizz talk about it was unneeded because we SHOULD worry about our pets. Now, all of a sudden, with no apology, they go ahead and give us pet resilience.

    Am I happy? Of course I am. But come on blizz; this should have been done a long time ago.

  9. @Windpaw
    DAMN YOU INDIE! Sick movies.

    @Dave
    Thing is, Blizzard still believes we should worry about our pets, but the thing is that the damage output of players is ridiculous at this point. In TBC, it wasn’t as big a problem(although it was STILL a problem) but now it’s beyond reasonable. I can’t keep Fafnir from dying in 2 seconds if the other team deems it necessary. With the resilience that pets might get(might is a key word, seeing as this stuff is still on the PTR) this might change things: in fact, this change alone will make Beastmastery more viable. We’re still missing the CC and burst of our survival Couterparts, but we can’t be CC’d or slowed down for roughly 45 seconds, not including trinkets and such.

    More in depth analysis tonight, I promise!!

Leave a Reply

