Day: 2009-01-25

Impressions of a Beastmaster: Survival

campingI was curious.

I’m sorry, god of Beastmastery, I will not falter for awhile.

You see, I tried survival.  Just to see how it worked.

WOW.  The number of shots I could use! I probably got the wrong glyphs and everything, but with a 50 mana difference between Aimed and arcane, I figured using aimed wouldn’t hurt too much.

So, Serpent Sting, Explosive shot, Aimed Shot, Steady shot priority.  I went for a long ranged build

Yes, it was a sucky build, but work with me on this one.

I tried it out, and I loved having all those cool new shots! It was great! Plus, kiting was a breeze.  The amount of damage I could dish out while Kiting was ridonculous.  Ridiculous is too normal a word to use here.

… However.  I missed the utility that my pet could bring to the table.  You see, I had a quest where you have to kill a magnataur called Gigantaur.

I could not solo him.  Not possible.  He was also incredibly hard to kite, as he ran incredibly fast, so no kiting either.

So, I tried to get a group going.  We almost got him, but our paladin died(honest! They can die!) and then our rogue evasion tanked for as long as he could.  Unfortunately, it just wasn’t enough, and we wiped.

So, I opted to go back to BM, and we could use my worm to tank.  The paladin would heal.

This worked to perfection.  No issues.  The tankadin kept Jormungandr topped up nicely, and he never lost threat.

So, survival? Great mana conservation.  Awesome kiting.  Great damage.

Hard to do anything else? Ayup.

Now, for all your survivalists…

FLAME ON!